fbpx Solomon Islands | Mothers' Union

You are here

Solomon Islands

The Solomon Islands consists of six major islands and over 900 smaller islands in Oceania lying to the east of Papua New Guinea and north-west of Vanuatu. The terrain is overwhelmingly mountainous and heavily forested and as a result most of the population lives along the coast of each island. Approximately one fifth of the country’s population live in urban areas, and of these some two-thirds reside in the capital city Honiara.

A massive 96% of the population of the Solomon Islands is Christian and incredibly, 70% are under 30. This has enabled Mothers’ Union to really grow and develop over the years since it began working in the region in the 1930’s. They have become a wonderfully outreaching and community focused Mothers’ Union group. Their current activities include:

  • Training workshops (nutrition, vocational skills)
  • Sunday School
  • Girls Friendly Society
  • Hospital visitation
  • Parenting Programme
  • Prison ministry
  • Adult literacy
  • Women’s refuges
  • Mothers’ Union guesthouses